51 Comments
Apr 19, 2022Liked by Asia Jackson

How has balancing acting and YouTube at the same time been? A few years ago you made a video about the frustration of having to quit your acting class to film/ submit content. Also, do you think someone trying to pursue acting should produce their own films online (like Issa Rae did with Awkward Black Girl) or get signed to an agency and audition the traditional way? I’m having a hard time choosing between the two.

Expand full comment
author

So now that I've grown and matured not only as an actor but as a woman, I realized that that frustration was a result of not being very organized. My disorganization led me to not being able to balance my work and life. These days it's a lot easier to balance because I'm a lot more organized and mindful. Also, auditions are no longer in person and have switched to self tapes which makes auditioning a lot easier to schedule into my week.

I don't think there's a right or wrong answer to that. Try both. Most people's success in this industry came from luck and/or being in the right place at the right time. Do the work that excites you, and something will eventually happen.

Expand full comment
Apr 18, 2022Liked by Asia Jackson

How do you balance acting/other work/life? I wanna act but I am very busy and I wanna be able to have a good balance

Expand full comment
author

I think this answer is going to be different for everyone because everyone has their own work & lifestyles. Personally, as a content creator it is relatively easy to balance acting with my other work because content creation is very flexible compared to a salaried 9-5 job. But acting is a lot easier to balance these days imo because we aren't doing in-person auditions anymore—everything is online or self tapes.

Expand full comment
Apr 18, 2022Liked by Asia Jackson

When you are in a trailer that shares a wall or walls with other actors trailers, how much are you able to hear each other? If you practice your lines out loud are they able to hear you? Do you ever hear other actors practicing lines or talking on the phone? What is the general etiquette regarding trailers and practicing lines out loud?

Expand full comment
author

Honestly it depends on what type of trailer you're in. If they have you in a honeywagon (https://standincentral.com/2013/06/26/on-set-terminology-honeywagon-lucy-and-desi/) then you'll definitely be able to hear your co-stars because those are separated by sliding dividers—not solid walls lmao. I think the general etiquette is just to make sure that you're off book by the time you arrive to set to film your scene. If that means you have to practice out loud, then so be it. If you hear your co-star practicing, ask if they wanna run lines together (if in the same scene). It'll be better than just practicing by yourself.

Soap operas are a little bit different because they don't tend to film on location so they don't put actors in trailer—they put them in individual dressing rooms. My dressing room when I filmed my episode of The Young & The Restless was quite large and had it's own bathroom!

Expand full comment
Apr 18, 2022Liked by Asia Jackson

How does one get started doing background/extra work?

Expand full comment
author

It depends on what city you're in, but the big background casting company in LA is Central Casting

Expand full comment
Apr 18, 2022Liked by Asia Jackson

what casting sites do you use? and how long did it take you to start actually getting work…was it before or after getting an agent?

Expand full comment
author

I don't self submit anymore, but I used to use LA Casting and Actors Access. I definitely got way more auditions and booked more jobs after I got an agent

Expand full comment
Apr 18, 2022Liked by Asia Jackson

how did you sign with your first agent? and how do you think you got where u are today?

Expand full comment
author

My very first agent found me on LA Casting. I went in for a meeting and signed the next day. It was a very small boutique agency that only had 3 agents, but it was through that agency that I started getting auditions for major roles. I booked Modern Family through my first agency!

Expand full comment
Apr 18, 2022Liked by Asia Jackson

How do you feel about the competition in the industry? I've never been to LA but I reckon it must be a looot of people trying to get them roles. So basically how's the vibe?

Expand full comment
author

I don't really 'feel' the competition if that makes sense. I've basically just accepted that the roles that are mine, are mine and the roles that are for others, are for others.

Expand full comment
Apr 18, 2022Liked by Asia Jackson

Do you have any advice or tips on booking roles, I’ve been getting auditions for lead roles within the past couple of months and I wanted to know if there’s anything I could do to enhance my chances?

Expand full comment
author

Honestly, I have no advice or tips because what I've learned over the past few years is that there is not much that you can do that will change a producer's or casting director's mind. You can be the most talented actor to audition for a role, but you won't necessarily be the RIGHT actor for the role. For example: Maybe you're auditioning for the love interest of a character that has already been cast—he's 5'9" but you're 5'10". The producers might want to cast a shorter actress. Another example: Maybe you're auditioning for a new teen show. You have blonde hair, but they've already cast a blonde. The producers might want to cast a brunette instead.

There are SO many factors that go into casting a project, and sometimes it has absolutely nothing to do with your or your talent!

Expand full comment
Apr 18, 2022Liked by Asia Jackson

I see you used LA Casting to find projects and eventually that’s how you got your agent. Do you know anything about the website Backstage? Is it the same concept/do you also recommend it for beginning actors with no experience?

Also, what’s the best way to go about getting headshots? Makeup, cost, outfits etc. And at what point do you find that step to be necessary?

Expand full comment
author

Things might be different now than when I was self submitting 7 years ago, but I literally never booked anything on Backstage lol I found way more opportunities on LA Casting and Actors Access

I think headshots are necessary for any actor that wants to pursue this career professionally. If you are submitting yourself to any projects, you have to have a decent set of headshots.

Expand full comment
Apr 18, 2022Liked by Asia Jackson

Have you worked in any movies in the past few years? Would love to watch 🤗

Expand full comment
author

Yes! My first movie was 'Stalked By A Reality' on Lifetime and I had a small role on Amazon Prime's 'Nocturne' — unfortunately most of my scene was cut out of the final cut lol

Expand full comment
Apr 18, 2022Liked by Asia Jackson

How do you handle self doubt? I’m an actor in NYC, SAG and represented. I have an existential crisis at least once a month where I panic wondering if all the work I’m doing is leading towards anything. Also really struggling with feeling like I’m running out of time, and reps constantly telling me I need to look as young as possible in my headshots/ feeling like I have to audition for 17 year olds forever even though I’m in my mid 20’s. It just feels like a lot of pressure. Sorry that’s a lot, but any thoughts? Lol

Expand full comment
author

I haven't met a single actor that doesn't feel this way—even ones that are currently series regulars on shows lol! I think it just comes with the territory because of how unpredictable this career can be. One thing that's definitely helped me was creating a YouTube channel. It has given me so many opportunities as well as an additional avenue to be creative in between acting jobs. In 2017, I booked a role almost every other month. After that? I didn't work for two years. And how long has it been since my last job? Almost three years. Haha. Every actor I've spoken to has these doubts, especially in between jobs. I know a very talented actress who was the lead on a popular Netflix show (that's ended already); she tested for a new series but didn't get the role. She said "sometimes I feel like I just got lucky with that one show and my career is coming to an end" but she is so incredibly talented, I just don't think that's necessarily going to happen LOL I guess my point here is that EVERYONE feels this way and I think it might help to find another creative hobby to pursue while you're auditioning and going to class

Expand full comment

Thank you for this thoughtful response, that’s really helpful! I actually listened to an old podcast interview of D’arcy Carden today, and it was so refreshing to hear from someone who isn’t a nepo baby nor came from money lol. She said she was struggling in nyc for Ten years and LA for three years before booking Barry and The Good Place in the same month. She spoke a lot about having these same anxieties all the time, and it was one of the first actor interviews I’ve listened to in a long time that felt relatable. So it’s nice to hear we all feel that way sometimes, and I wish you the best of luck I think you’re dope!

Expand full comment
Apr 18, 2022Liked by Asia Jackson

How important is having good skin for being an actor?

Expand full comment
author

Pretty important, honestly. Skin doesn't have to be perfect—actors break out all the time—but having cystic acne might hinder your chances, unfortunately

Expand full comment
Apr 18, 2022·edited Apr 18, 2022Liked by Asia Jackson

How is it possible for people that don't live in the USA find casting possibilities and opportunities in the industry?

Expand full comment
author

I've only worked in Hollywood as a US citizen so take what I'm about to say with a grain of salt, but it's my understanding that most foreign-born actors start by working in the film industry of their home country until the opportunity arises to cross over into the Hollywood market. This goes for nearly every popular foreign-born actor in Hollywood from Bruce Lee to Daniel Kaluuya to Margot Robbie to Ana De Armas. Someone like Lupita Nyong'o—her situation is a little different because she went to Yale for acting, though she did do a bit of production work in Kenya before enrolling at Yale. But most non-American born actors started acting in their home country.

Expand full comment
Apr 18, 2022·edited Apr 18, 2022Liked by Asia Jackson

Acting class recommendations in LA?

Expand full comment
author

Bonnie Gillespie, author of Self-Management for Actors, compiled a really great list of acting class recommendations in almost every major filmmaking city: https://cricketfeet.com/hotsheets/smfa10therighttraningrecommendedactingclassesandcraftcoaches.pdf

Expand full comment
Apr 18, 2022·edited Apr 18, 2022

This is perfect. Thank you!

Expand full comment
Apr 18, 2022Liked by Asia Jackson

Have you done any acting in the PH?

Expand full comment
author

I haven't! And honestly, I'm not sure how receptive PH showbiz would be to a mixed Black actor lol

Expand full comment
Apr 18, 2022Liked by Asia Jackson

It’s so disheartening how the PH is lightyears behind on “inclusivity”. Attempts to seem diverse right now look so forced when the same networks and productions would rather paint mixed white actors brown than hire indigenous peoples for indigenous roles. Plus size actors are never taken seriously. Differently abled actors are practically nonexistent. The PH turns its back on so many of its own people who have so much to offer.

Expand full comment
Apr 18, 2022Liked by Asia Jackson

Did you do theater growing up? How did you figure out your interest in acting?

Expand full comment
author

I had zero acting experience when I signed with my first agent—I didn't even do theater in high school. I found out that I had an interest in acting while I was in college, actually. I taught myself to code when I was 11 years old and when I graduated high school, I figured that was what I was going to do for the rest of my life because I already knew how to do it. While I was in college, I took a film production class for an elective and I realized that I really liked filmmaking. I really enjoyed 'making stuff'. For our final project at the end of the year, one of my classmates asked me to be the lead in his short film and THAT was when I realized that I like being in front of the camera, too. Then the rest was history lol

Expand full comment
Apr 18, 2022Liked by Asia Jackson

Have you lived in LA the entirety of your acting career? Or have you tried pursuing acting while living elsewhere (outside of CA)?

Expand full comment
author

I started my acting career while I was living in Long Beach, which is where I went to high school. Long Beach is in Los Angeles County and it's really not that far from LA—it's the traffic that sucks lmao. I actually started doing background before I pursued acting full-time. So you might see me as an extra on some tv shows circa 2013-2014 lmao. If you live in a city where they film a lot of stuff (NYC, LA, Atlanta, Vancouver, etc) I'd highly recommend doing background. I learned a lot about how sets worked as an extra! I learned what everyone's role was, how things are shot/filmed, how long the days can last, how many takes they often do, why adults 18+ are normally cast as teenagers (has to do with child labor laws), etc. My time working background was very valuable and if it wasn't for my experience working on set, I would have showed up to the Modern Family set extremely nervous and lost haha

Expand full comment
Apr 18, 2022Liked by Asia Jackson

Did you prioritize getting an agent when you started out? Is it possible to start anywhere in acting without one?

Expand full comment
author

I think a lot of actors in LA start with a commercial agent because they're a lot easier to secure than a theatrical agent. I, myself, started with a commercial agent. I didn't reach out to them—they reached out to me on LA Casting. LA Casting is a really great resource for beginner actors because you can submit yourself to projects without an agent and agencies are on that platform, so you might even find an agent there like I did! In short: yes, it is totally possible to start anywhere in acting without an agent. You can even start without any experience! Just get into an acting class and get on the platforms and get to work.

Expand full comment

Thank you! 🤍

Expand full comment

Do you have any tips for acting in the NYC, Philly area? I’ve done some theatre so I’d love to get some background work but I don’t know where to start.

Expand full comment

Did you have a reel when first starting and we’re they just short films, student films, etc? And what is your best advice when it comes to acting and getting that first role?

Thanks!

Belle

Expand full comment

What are ways to meet and connect with people who are in the production industry? How can I set a foundation or find an opening into that world?

Expand full comment

I’ve heard that you should always be careful what you say when wearing a mic because you never know if your mic is on and people might hear what you’re saying even when you’re in your trailer. My question is when you have to use the restroom do you take your mic pack off and mute it or turn it off? And does your answer change depending on if you are on set in the middle of filming a scene vs if you have been sitting in your trailer for hours waiting for the next scene?

Expand full comment
author

Yes, you should definitely be careful what you see when you're mic'd up! You're typically only mic'd during your scenes and in between takes. If production needs to set up a new scene and send you back to your trailer, they'll usually take your mic back.

Expand full comment

Did you book Modern Family and other co-stars through opportunities from your commercial agent? (wondering since this was your 1st agent) Or were those from after you got a theatrical agent? Or were those from finding the auditions yourself?

Expand full comment
author

So my first agency had both commercial and theatrical departments. I first signed with them commercially and then about a year or so later, I asked if they would be interested in signing me theatrically. After I got signed theatrically, they started sending me out on TV and movie auditions and that's when I auditioned for & booked Modern Family!

Expand full comment

how did you get an agent?

Expand full comment
author

My first agency found me on LA Casting! I've since moved to a bigger agency, but my very first agent reached out via LAC

Expand full comment