3 Comments
Sep 26, 2021Liked by Asia Jackson

Thank you so much for this forum. Navigating this world as a mixed human [I’m White/Asian (Pakistani)] is such a unique challenge. It’s like we’re all on an island together, but also kinda on our own islands individually😂 Bc like you said everyone has a different experience. Something I found super fascinating last year is that even though my siblings and I share the same parents, grew up in the same house, attended the same Masjid/Mosque, same schools, etc, we have COMPLETELY different experiences with acceptance/rejection within either community, as well as with our shared relatives.

Thank you for being so open with your personal experiences. It’s comforting and empowering to know that we are not alone in our struggles. I look forward to reading more about your journey!

Expand full comment
Sep 23, 2021Liked by Asia Jackson

This post really validated how I feel without even knowing how much I needed it. I’m Filipino, Black and Mexican and still trying to navigate what that all means…. Especially in a sense that I never feel like any one of my ethnicities because it’s not 100%.

Expand full comment